genealogy: Rena Jaro

name & relationship to me:

   Acc. to family sources such as my father, my aunt, and my grandmother Maud Gough New (who was Rena Jaro’s daughter-in-law): Rena Jaro was my great-grandmother (father’s father’s mother).

   acc. to 1910 US Census: My grandfather is listed as their child.

 

names–other:

   acc. to family sources: Her maiden name was Rena Jaro, and her married name was Rena New.

 

birth–date:

   acc. to her tombstone (which I have visited): Mar 24, 1889

 

   acc. to the 1900 census: Mar 1889

 

birth–place:

   acc. to family sources: She was born in South Carolina, and moved to Winston-Salem, NC in the 1920’s with her husband James New.

   acc. to 1900 census: South Carolina

   acc. to my father’s 3rd cousin Bonner Sasser, citing North Carolina Death Certificates, 1909-1975.  Record for Rena Jaro New: Edgefield County, South Carolina

 

birth–parents:

   acc. to family sources: Martin Gary Jaro and Carrie Palmer.  Carrie died fairly young, and after that, Martin Gary Jaro married Carrie’s sister Cleopatra, so Rena Jaro’s Aunt Cleopatra became her stepmother.

   acc. to 1900 census: Gary Jaro is listed as head of household and Cleopatra is listed as his wife.

 

 

birth–order, sibs:

   acc. to a family picture, with names on the back: There were 5 children: Janie Bell, Bud, Lucy, Frank, and Rena.  Lucy appeared to be the oldest, and Frank appeared to be the youngest.

 

picture provided by my father’s Aunt Margaret Esther:

 

 

back of picture:

 

   acc. to 1900 census: Rena was the oldest of 4 children.  (See scan of 1900 census above.)

   my take: Something is amiss when comparing the family picture to the 1900 census.  If Lucy was the oldest, why didn’t she show up in the 1900 census?  Also, some of the other names and birthdates on the 1900 census do not seem to match the family picture.

 

marriage–spouse:

   Acc. to family sources: Rena Jaro’s husband was James New.

   acc. to her tombstone, which I have visited: Rena J. New is buried with James New.

ACC. TO MY FATHER’S 3RD COUSIN BONNER SASSER, CITING 1920 U. S. Federal Census, Bordeaux, McCormick County, South Carolina: Rena Jaro married James New

 

marriage–date:

ACC. TO MY FATHER’S 3RD COUSIN BONNER SASSER, CITING 1920 U. S. Federal Census, Bordeaux, McCormick County, South Carolina: before 1909

 

marriage–place:

   (): (?)

 

children of Rena Jaro:

   acc. to my father:

1. Paul New, b. Feb 10, 1909 in McCormick, SC

2. Carolyn “Lucille” New, b. 9 July 1910 in McCormick, SC

3. Roy New, b. in McCormick, SC

4. Mary “Frances” New, b. 5 May 1914 in McCormick, SC

5. Gary New, b. in McCormick, SC

6. Josephine New, b. in 1918-present
7. Margaret Esther New, b. in McCormick, SC; d. 2011 in Winston-Salem, NC

8. Jane Elizabeth “Lib” New, b. 13 April 1924 in Winston-Salem, NC

 

   acc. to my father’s 3rd cousin Bonner sasser, citing 1930 US census + death-certificates for 2 babies:

1. Paul New, Son, m, w, 21

2. Carolyn L. New, Daughter, f, w, 19

3. James R. New, Son, m, w, 17

4. Mary F. New, Daughter, f, w, 15

5. Gary J. New, Son, m, w, 13

6. Josephine New, Daughter, f, w, 11

7. Margaret E. New, Daugher, f, w, 9

8. b. & d. 26 June, 1926 (stillborn)

9. Jane E. New, Daughter, f, w, 5

10. b. & d. 16 Feb, 1930 (premature)

 

   my take: combining the above sources plus some tombstones I have photographed, I derive the following:

1. Paul New, b. Feb 10, 1909 in McCormick, SC

 

2. Carolyn “Lucille” New, b. 9 July 1911 in McCormick, SC (her tombstone says 1911, not 1910)

 

3. James “Roy” New, b. abt. 1913 in McCormick, SC

4. Mary “Frances” New, b. 5 May 1914 in McCormick, SC

5. Gary J. New, b. abt. 1917 in McCormick, SC

6. Josephine New, b. 1918 in McCormick, SC

7. Margaret Esther New, b. abt. 1921 in McCormick, SC; d. 2011 in Winston-Salem, NC

8. b. & d. 26 June, 1926 (stillborn)

9. Jane Elizabeth “Lib” New, b. 13 April 1924 in Winston-Salem, NC

10. b. & d. 16 Feb, 1930 (premature)

 

talents, hobbies, pursuits:

   (): (?)

 

education:

   (): (?)

 

religious aff.:

   (): (?)

 

political aff.:

   (): (?)

 

civic/titles:

   (): (?)

 

career/occup.:

   (): (?)

 

death–date:

   acc. to her tombstone (which I have visited): (see photo of tombstone above) Feb 10, 1942

 

death–place:

   acc. to family sources: Winston-Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina.

 

death–cause:

   (): (?)

 

burial–place:

   acc. to me (I have visited her tombstone): (see photo of tombstone above) Winston-Salem, NC

 

age at death:

   acc. to subtraction of feb 1942 – mar 1889: 52 (would have turned 53 the next month)

~ by paulnew on July 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “genealogy: Rena Jaro”

  1. Rena Jaro New was my Grand mother–my mom (Rena’s and James New Daughter)is Josephine New Phillips only SIBLING STILL LIVING

  2. Thanks for the comment, cousin! I guess my dad Lance is your first cousin. Sadly, I haven’t gotten to know many of my relatives on the New side. My granddad Paul New died before I was born. His sister Margaret (Esther) was the one I knew the best. She passed away fairly recently (I guess in the last 2 or 3 years).

Leave a Reply

 
